Five Area Students Receive $5,000 in Scholarships

Sunday, April 22, 2012

Dakotaland Federal Credit Union recently honored five area youth with $5,000 in College Scholarships for the 2012-13 school year. Each recipient completed a written application and essay, which was judged by a scholarship committee made up of seven individuals. "It was difficult to select just five winners from the large number of students that applied. I was very impressed with all the applications and particularly with their research and knowledge of the differences between credit unions and other financial institutions," stated Scholarship Committee Member and Member Services Representative, Jeremiah Johnson.

The following winners were each awarded $1000 to use toward their continued education. Alison Slepikas of Huron, SD is currently attending South Dakota State University in Brookings majoring in Medical Laboratory Science. Lisa Francis of Brookings, SD will be attending Brigham Young University in Provo, Utah and majoring in Neuroscience preparing for med school. Brandon VanOverschelde of Cavour, SD will be attending Mitchell Technical Institute in Mitchell majoring in Architectural Design and Building Constructions. Briana Rice of Redfield, SD will be attending South Dakota State University in Brookings in the Pre-Dentistry Program. Sabrena Schmidt of Huron, SD is currently attending Northern State University in Aberdeen majoring in Music Education.

Dakotaland Federal Credit Union is a member-owned, not-for-profit financial cooperative with locations in Huron, DeSmet, Redfield, Madison, Volga, Brookings and Woonsocket. With 21,000 members and $209 million in assets, Dakotaland continues to be locally owned and operated offering a full-line of services to its membership since 1935.

Categories: 2012


Leave a Reply:

Your Name:  
Your Email: